What's new

How to write a proper letter to a Japanese family?

SerialChiller

Registered
13 Mar 2015
Hi everyone, this is my first post to the forums and I'm in desperate need for help.
The situation is I am trying to write a letter to a Japanese family who was also my host during my homestay last year in Japan. I have no knowledge on Japanese letters and I am super afraid of unintentionally upsetting them by saying something unbecoming.

So I would like to ask you how to properly phrase yourself in a letter on these matters:

-How do I address a family. Is it okay to use 'minasan' as I don't want to sound too formal yet also not coming off as rude. I want to say: 'To Baba (馬塲) family' and then 'Dear everyone' How should I put it?

-I want to say 'I miss you all very much, you all have been very nice to me' All the 'I miss you' I have found on the internet are meant for couples or too mushy in my opinion. Should I just say 'aitai'? And how do you make it 'very much'? :D

-The family has many members about whom I'd like to ask in the letter. So is it okay to ask specific people like 'How is Yusuke doing? in a letter addressing a whole family?
And when I'm adressing both of the parents, is their a shorter way than 'otousan & okasan'?
By the way, is there a cultural norm to the order of what should be mentioned first in a letter? For example, should you talk about yourself first (how you are doing, etc...) before inquiring about them?

-Since I plan to come to Japan later in the year, I want to ask them if I can visit them and if they can accommodate me for a few (2-3) days. Is it not very cultural to ask for such a thing? If not, how should I properly say it? Something along the line of: 'Are you okay with me coming and staying with you for a few days when I'm in Kobe?' but more polite

Thank you all for taking your time and helping me. I look forward to getting some guidance.
Onegaishimasu!

When addressing a whole family, you can say xx家のみなさん.