What's new

How to start increasing vocabulary in Japanese

Shiota

Registered
11 Jan 2015
Hello, everyone!

I've been learning Japanese for about two months now. I know about 1800 of the most useful kanjis out of the Joyo kanji and about a few hundred words maybe. Now that I know all these kanjis, I can read quite a lot. But there are tons of words I don't know which makes it very hard for me to write or read as I have to check the meanings every now and then.

So, that gives rise to my question, how do I start increasing my vocabulary? What is the most efficient way of doing this? So that I'll be able to read and write without having to check the dictionary often.
I'm looking forward to your opinions on this. :)

Within just two months, you not only know 1800 kanji, but also enough grammar to read quite a lot? That's pretty remarkable. Or does "reading" mean "recognizing the meaning of the individual characters, but not of the words they form and the sentences they compose"? If that's the case, you should start learning the grammar first as this is more important than an extensive vocabulary. (Still, while doing so, you'll also pick up new words from the examples given.)

Once you know your grammar well, you can opt to go over your kanji list again and learn at least one example word for each. In fact, you'll soon notice that most kanji are only used in a handful of words in practice, or even only one word.

*Then* you can further expand your vocabulary by reading real (not-made-for-textbook) texts and looking up words you don't know in the dictionary. Sometimes the meaning of the sentence will already become clear even if you skip some unknown, less important words - which you may want to do in the beginning, lest you forget what the text was even about halfway through because you're in the dictionary all the time.

Last edited: