What's new

How to work it out?

8 Oct 2008
Hi, I'm trying to translate sentences that my brother gave me. I'm getting confused on some things though.

通学風景
通学 = 'commuting to school' according to wakan... but then
風景 = 'scenery'
So together this would be 'Scenery while commuting to school'?

The sentence it is from is:
毎日の変わり映えのない、通学風景の中で
Every day, reflection doesn't change, scenery while commuting to school's middle? As you can see, I'm not too good at this 😅

So what I'm asking is, can someone explain how to understand the meaning of two words put together (such as 通学風景) and how to work out its meaning in relation to the rest of the sentence it is in?

I know, big thing, but I can't understand it one bit, and my brother is too busy to help :p he works too hard.

Thanks!!

通学風景
通学 = 'commuting to school' according to wakan... but then
風景 = 'scenery'
So together this would be 'Scenery while commuting to school'?

Almost. "The scene of commuting to school." 風景 seems to be from the direction of a bystander watching an action more than meaning just 景色 in this instance.

The sentence it is from is:
毎日の変わり映えのない、通学風景の中で
Every day, reflection doesn't change, scenery while commuting to school's middle? As you can see, i'm not too good at this 😊

It's more like "in the midst of the never-changing scenery of children going to school every day."

So what I'm asking is, can someone explain how to understand the meaning of two words put together (such as 通学風景) and how to work out its meaning in relation to the rest of the sentence it is in?