What's new

Practice writing sentences

ArtStrategist

後輩
3 Aug 2010
Hello :D

I was wondering, since I'm quite new to the language, if anyone knows any tips on how to start off :)? now, I've got a grammar book and all I need now (I think) is to put it into practice and expand my Japanese vocabulary.

does anyone have any tips on how to do this? :D online dictionaries etc? Home-pages, where I can practice writing simple sentences? anything would be great :)

Thanks.

That's quite a loaded question to be honest.

Personally I'd suggest taking a class. If that's not an option, then I would suggest at least buying a textbook.

The reason being is that you need to build both your grammar knowledge and vocabulary. Even now I find myself struggling at times to say what I want to say because of one of two issues:

1. I don't know the words to say what I want to say

2. I don't know the grammar structures to say what I want to say.

This is a problem I have with a lot of websites etc, you aren't always going to know the words they're using, and you may not have covered the grammar points they're using either.

So if you buy a textbook, and use your other books for reference, you can do the exercises in the book and be assured that you'll be covering things you have the knowledge to complete.

Once you've built up some vocabulary, then you can branch out to other sources to learn extra grammar and such.

I simply feel that the beginning of study is very important. You don't want to confuse yourself by attempting too much, or the mistakes you make could be very difficult to undo.

Remove "DOT" and replace with a period to unlike link to website!

brighthub "dot" com/education/languages/articles/51577.aspx

en "dot" wikipedia "dot" org/wiki/Japanese_particles

en "dot" wikipedia "dot" org/wiki/Japanese_verbs

Sorry about the links, but because I don't have very many posts I can't post complete links yet, so they're chopped, just replace "dot" with a period.............