What's new

Meiji Restoration

Sir Francis

Registered
19 Dec 2021
Hey people,

I'm a beginner fan of Japanese history and am researching info about the origins of the Tokugawa Shogunate collapse and the Meiji Restoration . Where I'm getting confused is which side wanted to modernise. I read a source that said the anti-shogunate rebellion by the Choshu and Satsuma who restored the Emperor Meiji were anti- Western and disagreed with the Shogun 's pro- Western stance. Then I find that later the emperor was pro-Western and killed off the samurai. So did the Emperor have a change of heart at some point? Or have I got this all wrong? Many thanks

The period between 1853 and 1868 (bakumatsu) is quite complex. With the appearance of the Black Ships, both sides realised the need to modernise the country, especially its defence capabilities, if only to fend off future incursions by Western powers. Most domains were staunchly opposed to opening up the country, with the Mito domain, ruled by a collateral branch of the Tokugawa, on the forefront of the sonnō jōi movement. Ironically, the last Tokugawa shogun, Yoshinobu (aka Hitotsubashi Keiki), would come from the Mito clan. While everyone agreed that the foreigners had to be repelled, there was substantial disagreement about how and under whose leadership this would be best accomplished. Satsuma and Chōshū were rivals until 1866 or 1867. Satsuma and Aizu had stationed troops in Kyoto to protect the capital and the interests of the shogunate, while Chōshū sent insurgents to destabilise the bakufu. Both sides aimed to safeguard the emperor and bring him onto their side.

Two events sounded the death knell for the shogunate: their defeat in the military expedition into Chōshū, and the alliance between Satsuma and Chōshū, forged by Sakamoto Ryoma. Acknowledging the hopelessness of his situation, Yoshinobu resigned in 1867. Tokugawa forces would be fighting the Satchō alliance in eastern Honshū and Hokkaidō until 1869.