What's new

Meiji teapot or Sake pot ?

aregjoe2

後輩
17 Jul 2009
Hello everyone ...
I have got this little teapot that I've been researching for several months , and I thought that perhaps someone here might have some input on/about .
What I do know about it : It's .950 sterling silver , repousee , and made in a 2-Water-Dragon motif . It holds 750ml , weighs about 18.5oz and has an ivory handle (Kyusu -style) . It is from the Meiji period , with the 'solid silver' jungin being the only 'hallmark' on it that I can see (it's the small inset on the image) .
A Japanese friend mentioned that it might be a Sake pot , rather than a teapot .
He suggested that I ask this question on a Japanese forum , so here I am !
I think it is a beautiful example of fine Japanese craftsmanship .
I thank you , in advance , for any information , interest &/or input .

Attachments

• smaller.JPG
    smaller.JPG
    81.8 KB · Views: 165
Last edited:
Quite unusual to see a silver teapot like that, though I'm no expert. At first glance it looks Chinese, particularly the dragon motif. Very nice detail, certainly doesn't look that old... Interesting that there's no signature mark on it.

Thank you for your comments , nice gaijin .

It's not unknown to have works left unsigned , but it does make the research a bit tougher .

The 'jungin' on the base of this teapot (Sake pot ?) is written in Japanese .

In the 1920's , & beyond , regulations about silver-marks on Japanese silver work changed , requiring that they have a decimal indicated silver-purity mark (.950 , .935 , .925 etc. ) .
Earlier works would have the 'junjin' & sometimes other marks from the artist .

I had this little fellow tested by a reputable local jeweler , and it came up .950 .

Typically , Japanese Dragons were/are depicted as having 3 toes , whereas Chinese Dragons would have as many as 5 ( usually 4 , though ) .

It is a very cool thing to see the steam rising from the dragons' mouth , when making tea in this one !