What's new

Sake: chilled or warm?

Mou Kaoru

後輩
6 Nov 2003
Konbanwa!:)
I'm new to drinking sake and I know that some sake taste better chilled (such as premium) and some taste better warm. But ppl say--when it comes to sake, to each his own.
To all you fun loving sake drinkers, I wanted to ask what's your preference?
Arigatou gozaimasu!🙂

well I'm definately no expert, but I like my sake ;) Which can be a bit difficult living in shochu country....
I drink it chilled or warm depending on what I'm eating and the season, but maybe there are some rules... I'll be interested to hear

hmmm, I am no expert on what brands are better, but I prefer atsukan(warmed) nihonshu over hiya(chilled). However, drinking that will get you drunk pretty quickly after putting down a couple of bottles. I am more of a beer man myself, but from time to time I have been known to put down some sake.

i like sake, though ive only ever had the cold kind whenever i get a bottle from the store it says serve cold on top of it so thats what i do.

Neither way, because I don't like sake. I can't tolerate alcohol like I used to. I do like umeshu(plum wine), though. That is very good.

If you can get a nice junmai-ginjo sake...depending on where it is made...it can be good both ways. Plus, it depends on what you are having with it. Sushi, I like it cold or chilled. Tempura or a hot dish...I like it hot or warm. My personal feeling is that it should reflect what your consuming it with.

Premium sakes are dry, and they have complexities that are damaged by heat exposure. They are always to be served cold.

I have no idea how to explain it, sorry Silver Angel!

I used to love umeshu, but now I find the taste too strong. I like sake, but I feel a bit guilty when I drink good sake because I don't have enough experience to appreciate it. My husband can take a sip and know it's a good brand, but I still have no idea :p Now wine, that's another matter.....