What's new

How long have you been studying Japanese?

How long have you been studying Japanese?

• Less than 3 months

Votes: 6 18.2%
  • 3 - 6 months

Votes: 3 9.1%
  • 6 months to 1 year

Votes: 2 6.1%
  • 1 - 2 years

Votes: 5 15.2%
  • 2 - 5 years

Votes: 12 36.4%
  • 5 - 10 years

Votes: 2 6.1%
  • More than 10 years

Votes: 3 9.1%
  • All my life: Japanese is my primary language

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • All my life: I was brought up in a bi/multilingual environment

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Roots said:
[...]towards people who have about 2 solid years of Japanese already.
[...]
be a translator. I've been seriously considering offering my services to Snoopycool Manga Scanslations over the last few days to help me retain my Japanese knowledge and at the same time help bring some great non-licensed manga to an English audience.
Well... I've been studying quite seriously for 4 years, but still I think that a manga would be really hard for me to understand properly...
For instance, I tried to understand some pages from 電影少女 and H2, but I could just translate a few sentences...
It's really hard, you know... :(
Fansub is even harder, but at least I get to hear some spoken jap, that's good after all.

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah I know its hard, but it also depends on what manga/anime series you are trying to translate. I once watched a Gundam Seed RAW before it was fansubbed, and I understood 95% of the spoken dialogue. I was pumped after watching that episode :)