What's new

Hello from Chicago

Malikon

Clown Prince of Fiddlin'
3 Jul 2013
Hello all,

My name is Malikon Ryan and I'm a musician currently plying my trade in Chicago.

I've been somewhat in love with Japanese culture, history, food, and the people since I was a kid. ..personally I blame James Clavells Shogun mini-series for showing me a world far away that just seemed,.....amazing, .. and beautiful.

Never considered myself otaku, always far too busy studying music, writing and performing, teaching,..many things music related.

But I've always loved Japanese 'stuff',..from some of the guitars (Like Tokai and Burny) to Robots/Transformers,..Japanese horror movies, traditional Japanese music which I studied and began using in my own personal music (though of course I gave it an aggressive american twist)...and yeah,..I'm one of those sad suckers who's always thought Japanese women were the most beautiful women on the planet. ( mostly due to the stereotypical image of the Japanese woman being polite and feminine instead of the average loud and brash american woman )

A couple years ago I started teaching music lessons over Skype, and I was happy to discover I had some Japanese fans of my music. Eventually I started teaching some students that live in Japan and consider myself lucky to have made what I consider to be a real friend, an ex-pat who's lived in Japan most of his life. He's been my portal into understanding and getting a glimpse of the average japanese life.

He's always inviting me to come there, but money is difficult at the moment and I don't have a passport anyway. (the life of a full time musician in America is basically not a rich one. ..you "suffer" for your art it would seem.)

But I look forward to teaching and talking with him every week.