What's new

Employment in Japan?

Slugs

I know you...
27 May 2010
I'm planning to move to Japan as soon as possible, I'm just wondering, as an Irish 18 year old Male with 2 year's worth of Japanese language, how likely would it be for me to get a job in Japan?

Without a bachelor's degree I doubt you can get a job anywhere, especially with only two years of Japanese language learning under your belt. One of the easiest ways to get a job in Japan is through JET teaching English, but you need a bachelor's degree for that. I'm no expert on this topic and hopefully some more experience members can chime in on this.

Yes, someone already has mentioned the JET programme to me. That is my fall back, though it isn't looking likely atm :p

Just read through it there, it says:
Working Holiday visa holders can engage in any kind of job as long as their stay is deemed to be primarily a holiday in Japan. They may not, however, work in places where business is being regulated by the Law on Control and Improvement of Amusement and Entertainment Business, such as nightclubs and dance halls.

o_O That's a buzzkiller...

How about this, plan for a job first, then go to Japan once you have a job set up in some way. I know two people who are from China who got their masters IN JAPAN, speak perfect Japanese, and can't get a job. And you're telling me you're going to get a job after you step off the plane it seems... Good luck, and enjoy giving wasted money to the airline company.

Better start considering a realistic plan.

Thanks for such a helpful post, gave a lot of insightful tips there... Do you honestly think I'm going to just fly over and spend my time looking for a job...? That's why I'm posting now, to see what oppurtunities there're. Should really think clearly before condemning.