What's new

Desperately in need for Japanese and American participants for my Bachelor's Thesis Project!

callmezach27

Registered
17 Jan 2021
Hey everyone! I am really desperate!
I need at least 40 Japanese and 40 American participants for my thesis and so far I have 9 Americans and 0 Japanese, PLEASE help me out!

My name is Zoran, and I am a Psychology student at Empire State College. I am currently doing my Bachelor's Thesis Project on differences in the perception of basic emotions between American and Japanese culture. If you are American or Japanese it would mean a lot to me if you could please fill in my 7-10 minute survey.

Unlike other surveys, this one does NOT require you to read a lot but instead to look at the pictures and say what do you see.

If you decide to fill it out, I would ask you to carefully read the description of both tasks before filling it out.

Here is the link: American and Japanese Culture and Basic Emotions - Survey

Thank you all in advance!
Stay safe! 🙂

Hi Zoran! It's commendable that you are conducting original research for your BA Thesis.

I know that you haven't asked for any feedback but I'd like to point out two problems that I see with your survey:

1) You are establishing a simple correlation between nationality and culture. Ideally, you are looking for respondents who have been socialized in a homogenous cultural setting and have not had much intercultural experience in their life. I doubt that you expect the same responses from a Japanese national who has been brought up in the USA or elsewhere and one who was born and raised in Japan and has never left the country for an extended period. You could either add more identifying questions on the first page or at least consider these possibilities when you evaluate the results.