What's new

Question Are Temples & Mythical Creatures Considered as Sensitive Topics to be Adapted to Fictional Works?

vickyamin

Registered
9 Jun 2020
Hello all, nice to meet you! I'm a writer from Indonesia, and currently working on a fiction about Japan and its culture. The story revolves around the four mythical creatures in Japanese belief (Seiryu, Suzaku, Byakko, and Genbu), and will see the protagonist human characters exploring around temples and attractions across Japan, but in a fictional sense.

Before I'm writing too far, I want to know first how Japanese people feel about these topics — are they sensitive? Would it be considered a blasphemy to write a fiction about these topics?

For the mythical creatures, I've seen them being adapted freely in anime or manga. But as for temples, I'm not sure if Japanese people would be okay with fictional stories happening at real temples like Osaka's Shitenno-ji and Nara's Horyu-ji.

Can you offer me your views on this? It would really be helpful for me because I need to write something that doesn't hurt any culture or religion/belief :)

Let's discuss! Thanks in advance!

I can't imagine any problems unless you try to be deliberately provocative, and you don't sound like that sort of person! I'm speaking as long-term resident (16 years) or Japan.

I can't imagine any problems unless you try to be deliberately provocative, and you don't sound like that sort of person! I'm speaking as long-term resident (16 years) or Japan.

Thanks for this (also for the compliment :D), it's such a relief to know! But out of curiosity, why do you think it won't be any problem? Is it because the open-mindedness of Japanese people, or is it because the topics are not that sensitive (unless, as you said, deliberately provoked)?