What's new

News Taxi companies now hiring foreigners - and university graduates!

thomas

Unswerving cyclist
Admin
14 Mar 2002
With the transportation industry suffering from a lack of drivers, many cab companies resort to hiring foreign drivers: Hinomaru Kotsu started full-scale hiring of permanent residents and other foreign drivers six years ago. It now has a team of 83 foreign drivers.

One of the difficulties those drivers face are the kanji in their Class 2 license test. Mainichi introduces the case of Massimo Bellini, an Italian driver for a Tokyo-based taxi company and former English teacher who passed after seven failures. Other drivers passed after as many as 80 attempts at passing the test.

Bellini sat the test for his Class 2 license while undergoing training at the company. He had already been in Japan for 16 years at that point, so he could converse easily in Japanese, but for him, the kanji was tough. "I studied day after day -- practice, review, practice, review," he recalls. The written test has 95 questions, which examinees must complete in 50 minutes. To pass, they need a score of at least 90%, but it took time for Bellini to read the questions, and at first, he was unable to get through them in the allotted time. He passed the exam on his seventh attempt, and made his debut as a driver six months after entering the company. He now enjoys his job.

Given the severe shortage of drivers, the Japanese government is now considering easing the license test requirements:

As more than 10,000 taxi drivers quit their jobs during the Corona pandemic, taxi companies are also looking at hiring university graduates. The flexible work hours and the higher salary attract even academics.

Driver Shortage Sends Japan Taxi Firms to Recruit New Graduates