What's new

Take recordings OR make recordings?

hirashin

Sempai
Donor
8 Apr 2004
Dear native English speakers,

which verb sounds right in the sentence below, taken or made?

When electrical recordings of the brain of the Indus Dolphin were [ made / taken ], it was found that the animal actually sleeps around 7 hours a day.

Hirashin

I also think "made" is better. Just for reference, the use of verbs that don't say very much (one expert referred to them as "colourless verbs") is frowned upon in scientific writing. As a scientific editor, I would much prefer "When electrical signals...were recorded" ("record" says so much more than "make"). But the sentence with "made" is fine for education purposes.

Oh? There seems to be some difference between British English and American English. Thank you all for the information.

British English and American English sure do differ , LOL. My wife is from England and we often compare the different words we were bought up with.

British English and American English sure do differ , LOL. My wife is from England and we often compare the different words we were bought up with.

Has her English changed over the years she has spent "across the pond"?