What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Help Looking for some help with a flag!

brennan909

Kouhai
Reaction score
Hello all. New to the forums. I am an amateur collector of gear/firearms/artifacts of ww1/ww2. I absolutely love history so I recently acquired what I believe to be a Japanese good luck flag. I know next to nothing when it comes to Japanese Kanji, or the typical markings on their flags, thus I am here looking for some help. I had several questions. The most important one would be... is this a real ww2 era flag? (I really hope so, though I didn't spend a whole lot). Also, is there anything of note as to what is painted on this flag (Unit designation, dates, name of recipient, company/location?). Thank you!!! - Chris
20201202_024131k.jpg
20201202_024143k.jpg
20201202_024139k.jpg

Majestic

先輩
Reaction score
武運長久 (Būun chōkyū) written from right to left across the top. "Good luck in battle"
祝壮途 (Iwai sōto) written vertically on far right. "Good luck on your expedition/undertaking/adventure"
1606897464647.png

(samuhara) written in four large characters surrounding the red disk in the flag. This is a word associated with Shinto religion and creation myths of Japan. It refers to the first gods of Japan. The kanji characters are non-standard kanji, and aren't included in the normal MS- IME.

The recipient of the flag is Koizumi Kunitarō 小泉國太郎.
The rest of the writing is just random names.
I can't tell if its real or not. There is nothing obviously fake about it, but there is nothing definitively authentic about it either.

brennan909

Kouhai
Reaction score
Thank you majestic! As new to Japanese flags/militaria, is there anything obvious I should be on the hunt for when it comes to fakes? I bought it from a militaria dealer (I know not always the most trustworthy source) but nothing stood out as an obvious forgery or addition.