What's new

Kanji

Shinsan

先輩
27 Jul 2007
I'm currently studying Japanese.Do i NEED to learn Kanji if I want to move to Japan?Is it common?

When I visited Japan I saw Kanji everywhere, but I have listed it as the last thing to study on my list as I think having an understanding or Hirigana and Katakana is a better first step. I think that will allow for (possibly) easier learning of Kanji. But that is just my opinion. It is definitely something you will want to study, but I would suggest getting the other two under your belt first.

If your serious about learning Japanese, you should first learn kana (hiragana, katakana) then work on vocabulary, grammar, etc. When you have a base knowledge, then you can start picking up some kanji.

Kanji is everywhere in japan like the roman letters are found throughout America. Though you will also see kana and roman letters. Kanji and Kana are both found Everywhere throughout Japan.

So is the question "Is it OK to be functionally illiterate?" Personally, I'd say no.

if you want to live in japan, you'll need at least jlpt 2 standard, which most certainly means you'll need to know kanji.

I want to say first that I fully 100% agree with all earlier posts , except for needing at least jlpt 2 standard. However these answers surely will scare someone into not going to Japan even if the poster is not. I know people who can't read even hiragana/katakana and they live and work here. So to answer your question ,no it is not needed. But like the others have said , it will make life a lot easier, not to mention more interesting.

when i say living in japan, it means living like a japanese, including understanding at least the common keigo used in customer service, in case you're approached my a salesperson or similar. also, you can converse with japanese you meet, read most writings (like signs, notices etc) with no problem.