What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Question study/learn & at/in college

hirashin

Sempai
Donor
Reaction score
Dear native English speakers,
would you help me again?

Which sentence sounds right?
(a) I studied physics at college.
(b) I learned physics at college.
(c) I studied physics in college.
(d) I learned physics in college.

Thanks in advance.

Hirashin

mdchachi

Reaction score
(c) and (d) sound right to me. (I'm not sure if (a) and (b) are correct or not but they don't sound natural to me.)

Michael2

後輩
Reaction score
For me, I would take out B and D. It would be highly unlikely you had completely mastered the entire subject so I think "study" is always better when talking about an entire subject.
In England we always use "at" for places unless you're talking the actual physical place as in "inside", so A would almost be perfect for me, except we'd say "University" too.

Lothor

Proofreader extraordinaire
Donor
Reaction score
For me, I would take out B and D. It would be highly unlikely you had completely mastered the entire subject so I think "study" is always better when talking about an entire subject.
In England we always use "at" for places unless you're talking the actual physical place as in "inside", so A would almost be perfect for me, except we'd say "University" too.
Agree with Michael about b and d. I'd be interested to hear what US English speakers think of c - I check a lot of biographies of scientists when I'm proofreading. I don't like 'in' in this context but I leave it.

hirashin

Sempai
Donor
Reaction score
Thank you all for your help. I suppose that there are some differences between US and UK usage.

Michael2

後輩
Reaction score
I'm pretty sure "in" is used in AE in this context, but I would argue against using "learnt" till the cows came home. Its logically impossible to "learn" an entire subject.