What's new

Books and materials for a beginner in Osaka

sickboy

後輩
27 May 2003
Hello all,

Well, first of all, Im a complete rank amateur at Japanese although I have learned to speak a little, enough to get by certainly as well as make small talk.

What I need is recommendations of books to use. My primary focus is on speaking it, with reading and writing of a slightly lesser concern.

I have seen Genki Japanese recommended and am wondering what different kinds of materials and anything else you can suggest.

I will be in Osaka later this week on a shopping trip, so if can I please get a detailed list of different kinds of materials and such that will get me on my way to speaking and learning much, much more!

Just got my fat pay check from Seoul, so Im not worried about the cost, I just want the goods!

Oh, and recommendations of where to purchases said materials in Osaka would be great as well!

Thanks a lot!

John

Konnichiwa Sickboy-san!

Do you want to get the Osaka dialect? Grammar is the same as common Japanese. But words and inflection of word ending is different.

An instance...
in English
How much is this? 1000 yen? It's too expensive for me. Could you give me a little discount? 900 yen? Dose it include tax? Ok, I'll take this.

in common Japanese
Kore ha Ikura desu ka? 1000 yen? Sukoshi Takaku nai? Mousukoshi Makete moraemasen? 900 yen? Sore Zeikomi desu ka? Jaa, Kore Kudasai.

in Osaka dialect
Kore Nanbo? 1000 yen? Chotto Takain Chau? Chotto Makete naa. 900 yen? Zeikomi yaro? Honnara, Kore Chodai.
Can you understand in Osaka dialect?:D

I think that you can not master Osaka dialect in few days. And there is no good books about Osaka dialect in Japan.
But don't mind! Most of all store clerk speak common Japanese. And if you can not understand clerk's speaking, you can say "Please in English" to clerk.

NANGI

No, no... no ben for me!