What's new

Being Gaijin in Japan, is it good or bad?

madameR

後輩
8 Nov 2010
hey, everyone.窶堙昶?堙遺?堋ウ窶堙アツ、窶堋ア窶堙ア窶堙俄?堋ソ窶堙債!
I'm japanese, 24 years old woman.
When I was a student, I used to live in a dorm for foreign students in order to assist their life in Japan(that's where I met my husband).
I often visit this forum and enjoy reading what you write, knowing what you think.
I have a question that I have been thinking for long time.
To be gaijin in Japan, what does it mean to you?
- Have you had good or bad experience because you are gaijin?
-Do you enjoying beeing gaijin?
-How do you feel when japanese call you gaijin?
-Do you think that japanese people discriminate gaijin?
Tell me what you think frankly.
If you explain in simple english, that helps me a lot:pツ湘

This topic has a strong danger of becoming a thread that is totally negative and just rehashes old posts about how some foreigners have been treated badly.

Too many things to write in a single post.

Mostly good.

I have no choice. Most of the time, yes.

Depends on how they say it.

Yes, sometimes.

How do you feel being a "Japanese gaijin" in France?

It means whatever I make of it.

Mostly good, or indifferent. The only experiences I really remember as purely negative are the ones where people are fearful I am going to rob them or do them physical harm, even though I am just walking down the street. Like i remember walking by somebody sitting alone in their parked car and as I approached to walk by the car I heard the sound of the doors locking... (ughh as if...) also there have been times when walking down the street people people clearly go out of their way to avoid me.. (mostly just old ladies that do this), but still.. to me the thought that they think i would do something to harm them makes me feel bad.

Depends on the day, and whether or not typically annoying questions like "can you use chopsticks?" and other stereotypical treatment of foreigners gets on my nerves or not.