What's new

Basic question about negative adjectives

Guregori

先輩
25 Aug 2012
Hello all,

I've been learning Japanese for a couple of months and I'm currently looking at adjectives. I have a question about negative adjectives in the non-past. When it comes to negating adjectives, the book I'm using only mentions how it works when the adjective is the predicate (after the noun), and it doesn't say anything about what happens when the adjective is before the noun but the sentence is negative. Could you let me know if the below are correct (particularly D and F)?

When using adjectives as the predicate I have it clear (I think):
A. その犬はかわいいです。 That dog is cute.
B. その犬はかわいくありません。 That dog isn't cute.

But when using adjectives before nouns:
C. それは小さい猫です。 That's a small cat.
D. それは小さい猫ではありません。That's not a small cat. <------ Is this one possible?

Another example, with a -な adjective:
E. ジャスティン・ビーバーは有名人です。Justin Bieber is a famous person.
F. じゅんさんは有名人ではありません。 Jun isn't a famous person. <-------- Is this one possible?

Thanks in advance!

Hello all,

I've been learning Japanese for a couple of months and I'm currently looking at adjectives. I have a question about negative adjectives in the non-past. When it comes to negating adjectives, the book I'm using only mentions how it works when the adjective is the predicate (after the noun), and it doesn't say anything about what happens when the adjective is before the noun but the sentence is negative. Could you let me know if the below are correct (particularly D and F)?

When using adjectives as the predicate I have it clear (I think):
A. その犬はかわいいです。 That dog is cute.
B. その犬はかわいくありません。 That dog isn't cute.

But when using adjectives before nouns:
C. それは小さい猫です。 That's a small cat.
D. それは小さい猫ではありません。That's not a small cat. <------ Is this one possible?

Another example, with a -な adjective:
E. ジャスティン・ビーバーは有名人です。Justin Bieber is a famous person.
F. じゅんさんは有名人ではありません。 Jun isn't a famous person. <-------- Is this one possible?