What's new

Applying to Sophia University FLA Fall 2012

Gilandor

後輩
24 May 2012
Hi guys,

I'm applying to Sophia Uni's FLA for Fall 2012 (as the title says).
Now, I also applied for the Spring intake this year, but was rejected due to certain reasons that I'll go on to address in a bit.
I'll talk a bit about the cause of my main problem first.

I'm from Singapore and I graduated from Senior High in 2005 with dismal A'level results due to burn out and a total loss of faith in the system. It's not very funny to study and memorize insane amounts of text, hoping to get a decent grade (like all other locals do) and then suddenly watching your friends from international schools clowning around, partying every other night, showing you how much easier and less competitive their examination curriculum is... and then having them show you that they have all entered good overseas universities, while you have to fight with the other locals for those few spots in the four local universities. My subject combinations were not any help since I took History, Geography, Economics and had to take Chinese as a second language (a second language is required for local university application and I was forced to take Chinese, a language that I can speak and read, but had no interest in studying).

Now, it's 7 years later and those results have been proving to be my greatest bane. I was unable to retake the exams the following year as I was called up to serve my two years of military service (like all other local men) and by the time I was done with the army, the A'level curriculum had vastly changed. For example, for History, I had to study the French Revolution, the Unification of Italy and the Unification of Germany, World War I's causes and the question of German War Guilt, etc. By the time I had finished army, none of the above were in the curriculum and people were taking Modern World History instead.

Now, getting to the main point.