What's new

Some questions - travelling to Japan next Spring!

midnight rain

後輩
3 Nov 2009
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the JREF forums and i have some questions about travelling to Japan - I have never been before but would like to go next Spring, for 4-5 weeks. Sorry in advance if they have been answered on the forums already,

1. This is an odd one, but i've read quite a bit about Japanese giant hornets (most of it is probably over-sensationalised), but as a serious question, how common/dangerous are they? I would potentially like to do some remote walking in rural areas.

2. I've picked Spring to travel because i'd really like to see the cherry blossoms in full bloom across the country - are there any amazing festivals that i must go to in particular during this time?

3. Is there by any chance a translated website (English) saying which Japanese music bands/artists are touring next Spring in Japan? I'd love to go and see a few if possible while i'm there.

4. How are clothes sizes? I'm just over 6' tall, slim build and would like to buy some clothes while i'm there, but i get the feeling i'll be considered very tall and wonder if regular shops would stock such a size?

5. Are there any particlar places of interest that you personally would recommend?

I know some of these questions are quite specific, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for reading!

Alex

Last edited:
Can anyone help me with any of these questions? I'm interested in most aspects of Japanese culture, but am particularly interested to learn of nice places to visit in Japan, particularly those with nice scenery.

Many thanks

Welcome to JREF!

1. Japanese giant hornets
There's no need to worry about it unless you're going into the mountains and waking through bushes.

2. Sakura (Cherry blossoms)
I cannot think of big festivals related to sakura, but if you go to any parks famous for sakura, you'll see a lot of people having picnic under cherry trees.