What's new

question about verbs ending

patroclus

先輩
26 Mar 2006
Hello!

I'm studying japanese on my own, and I know quite lots of verb endings such as arukeru (I can walk), arukenai (I can't walk), arukereba (If I could walk), aruku tame ni (for the purpose of walk), aruku no ni (in order to walk), and so on...

But I met with some verbs I just don't understand which meaning is getting. For example, kasanetehora (from kasaneru, to put together). -Te form + hora. What does it mean??

thank you!
:)

Konnichiwa patroclus-san!
Welcome and Hajimemashite. Please enjoy the forum!🙂

But I met with some verbs I just don't understand which meaning is getting. For example, kasanetehora (from kasaneru, to put together). -Te form + hora. What does it mean??

Hora? What is -hora?😌
I think it is a verb ending who use Horror Man in Anime "Anpanman". Horror Man say "verb + hora" always.:p

NANGI

Doozo yoroshiku! Arigatoo 😊
It is from a song lyric. I suppose it is not the best way to learn, as many songs usually have some very coloquial language. 😌
The whole sentence is
"Ryoute wo sotto kasanetehora hohoemukara"
and it is traduced as
"Our hands are gently touch, and then look at me smile"
It is not the only question I have, so maybe the author is using some "extrange" language here? ☝

Yes, I think trying to learn Japanese from lyrics is a bad idea because lyrics are written with omissions and non-standard sentence structure very often.

I had no idea what you were asking about in your first post. It has become clear with your second.

It is not a single sentence but two:
Ryoute wo sotto kasanete (Put both hands gently together)
Hora hohoemukara (See? They will smile)

"Hora" is a marker to direct attention to something, which in this case is most likely hands.

BTW, I like Nangi-san's suggestion! I didn't know about Horror Man until now! I should be watching Anpanman more often! 😊