What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Travel News Quarantine curbs to be eased for 20 nations


Unswerving cyclist
14 Mar 2002
Reaction score
Good news for travellers from overseas: arriving passengers from 20 nations and part of Russia will no longer be obliged to self-isolate for three days at government-designated facilities after landing in Japan. The measure takes effect from midnight Sept. 19. The 20 nations are Andorra, Belarus, Cambodia, Fiji, Finland, France, Ireland, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malta, Namibia, the Netherlands, Oman, Thailand, Tunisia, the United States, and Zimbabwe.

The government also announced five variant strains of the novel coronavirus that it is focusing on when deciding if tougher entry restrictions are needed. Until now, the three variants that caused primary concern were Beta, Gamma and Delta. The new variants are Eta, Iota, Kappa, Lambda and Mu.

Top Bottom