What's new

Japanese learning material (books)

hideway

still hiding
8 Dec 2006
Hey everyone. :)

I'm currently studying and working at the same time. Both work place and university are quite far from each others and from my home, meaning that I spend daily about 3 to 4 hours on metro, bus, boat or just walking. The best part is that I currently have plenty of time for Japanese study every day. :)

This fact, however, made my studying material shift, from tools and websites, to books and printed paper. Something that, surprisingly, I found to be extremely beneficial to my learning curve. I'm currently using Genki at my Japanese classes and I just bought Kanji & Kana from Tuttle Publishing to improve my kanji understanding as I'm completely amazed and eager to learn more about them.

While I learned (still not finished :p) verbs, adjectives, particles, sentence construction, etc, I noticed (hopefully right) that the most difficult barrier to overcome will be the generalized lack of vocabulary. So, I decided, as suggested by a friend, to start reading Japanese raw manga. I was a bit disoriented as I never read a single manga (japanese or otherwise) in all my life. But I managed to find and download a fairly decent quality manga from the internet. (in terms of image definition - who could tell furigana would be so damn hard to read anyway? :p)

This turned to be a terrible new challenge. After more than a month, didn't even manage to end the first page. 😌

I decided that this meant war and I want to, out of stubbornness, read not only that first page but the entire comic. So my next step will be to buy a hand Japanese dictionary and use it to break the comic, page by page, sentence by sentence. :devilish: