What's new

Hello everyone...another newbie to the site!

FDDreamer

後輩
23 Jan 2008
Hi,

Just a quick note to introduce myself! My name's Adrian, I live in England and hope to be able to start studying Japanese soon! I am currently trying to ascertain which self-study book/CD etc is right for me as I work full time and do not have the luxury of tuition!

This site seems to have a great community though, and I hope that I will pick up some sage advice that will point me in the direction of the best learning resource for a complete beginner like me!

Anyway, nice to meet you all, bye for now!

Kind regards,

Adrian

Thanks for the welcome! Well I certainly have a lot to learn...as of today I can read and write 15 characters in Hiragana...and that's about it!

Seems like a great place to learn though, already picked up lots of useful advice just from looking about! :)

You're welcome! Yeah, it's great here. People ask a lot of good questions and give fabulous answers. How convienient is that?? :)

Well at the moment all I seem to be doing is asking questions, but it's nice to think that maybe one day I'll be in a position to give someone else some answers! :)

I've got my trusty hiragana table all ready for my train journey home, going to see if I can learn the next 10 characters in order to bring the total to 25!

Yeah when I was learning I looked up random words in my Japanese dictionary and wrote them in hiragana (Using the table of course)) Repetition really does help also. Finding ways to look at a character and remember it's meaning is nice too. Like "ta" looks kinda like a "t"... And "no" looks like a sideways N. ;)

Welcome to JREF FDDreamer! I hope you enjoy your time here with us and good luck with your Japanese studies!

Thank you! So far so good, although I appreciate I'm only at the tip of the proverbial iceberg I have managed to learn 46 characters in Hiragana, which is encouraging!