What's new

Will being critical of Japanese government hamper JET program aspirations?

Athenry

後輩
19 Dec 2014
I'm an aspiring journalist, I've been writing freelance on and off for the past few years.

In the past 12 months I've written a few articles about Japan, and in them I take quite a critical tone toward Abe's LDP, and some of the far-right groups in Japan. In particular when it comes to military expansion, denialism and reinterpreting Article 9.

I would like to teach in Japan, and have been planning to apply to the JET program late next year, to teach in mid-2016.

Do you think my criticism of the current Japanese administration, and the far-right in Japan, will have any impact on my chances of being accepted?

Only if you go out of your way to draw their attention to it.

A case of biting the hand before wanting it to feed you?

Only if you go out of your way to draw their attention to it.

A case of biting the hand before wanting it to feed you?

Ah well hopefully it won't come back to bite me. I've recently adopted a more positive outlook on life, so I'll probably have a couple of more positive articles about Japan out in the future too.

Hah yeah I guess so. I find it hard to keep my mouth shut about things I care about.

I don't see much opinion in them, just factual reporting. Plus, they are in a blog, not a commercially distributed media affiliation. When/If you are interviewed, they will probably ask about what you did in Japan as a freelance writer, so that's probably when you will have to do any explaining. Keep it simple, such as "I reported in a blog about some major political events" instead of "I wrote about (implying giving your opinion) them on my blog".