What's new

Various questions

hirashin

Sempai
Donor
8 Apr 2004
Hello, native English speakers.

I am an English teacher. I have some questions about the exams that my colleagues made for the first term final exam.

1) Put the words in the parentheses in the correct order.
They (their him whatever for child buy wants).

[ I can't solve this problem.]

2) Which is correct?
a) The gorilla lay on his stomach, his chin resting on his folded arms.
b) The gorilla lay on his stomach, his chin rested on his folded arms.

3) Which is correct?
a) Oil and water don't mix up.
b) Oil and water never mix up.
c) Oil and water do not mix.
d) Oil and water can't mix.
e) Oil and water can't be mixed.

4) Which is correct?
a) All things considered, it's not the right time to start a new enterprise.
b) All things considered, it's not the correct time to start a new enterprise.
c) All things considered, it's not the good time to start a new enterprise.
d) All things considered, it's not the appropriate time to start a new enterprise.
e) All things considered, it's not the best time to start a new enterprise.
f) All things considered, it's the wrong time to start a new enterprise.
g) All things considered, it's the bad time to start a new enterprise.

5) Are both correct?
a) Reading is to the mind what exercising is to the body.
b) Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.

6) Does this conversation sound right?
A: Where did he work for the first time in his life?
B: It was a nearby farm.
[Should B say, "He worked for a nearby farm"?]

7) Which is correct?
a) I fell off my bike.
b) I fell from my bike.
c) I fell off from my bike.
d) I dropped from my bike.
e) I dropped off my bike.
f) I dropped off from my bike.

8) Select the correct word for the blank from the word list.
Shall we throw away this chair of ( ) is broken?
[ what which who whom where when whose that ]

[I can't solve this problem.]

9) Are all of them correct?