What's new

Two questions on grammar

aleku

後輩
26 Jan 2004
I am a beginner in Nihon-go, I have some questions while learning the language. 🙇

1.) いつに あなたの うちで ばんごはん を たべましょか。
itsuni anatano uchide bangohan o tabemashoka

Is this sentence grammatically correct? I wanted to say "What time (do we) eat dinner in your house?"

2.) べんきょう します and べんきょう して います。
benkyou shimasu benkyou shite imasu

What is the difference between "shimasu" and "shite imasu"?

arigatou gozaimasu!!!!

Is this sentence grammatically correct? I wanted to say "What time (do we) eat dinner in your house?"
It's grammatically correct. Literally meaning 'what time shall we eat dinner at your house?"

2.) べんきょう します and べんきょう して います。
benkyou shimasu benkyou shite imasu

What is the difference between "shimasu" and "shite imasu"?
します expresses a present or future tense, depending on the context. しています expresses the progressive tense. So "日本語の勉強をします"would mean "I study Japanese" whereas "日本語の勉強をしています"means "I am studying Japanese".

Like wise, 勉強をしていました means "I was studying". The informal variation of しています is している,and the more colloquial してる

日本語の勉強をします I study Japanese(formal)
日本語の勉強をする I study Japanese(informal)
日本語の勉強をしています I am studying Japanese(formal)
日本語の勉強をしていました I was studying Japanese(formal)
日本語の勉強をしている I am studying Japanese(informal)
日本語の勉強をしていた I was studying Japanese(informal)
日本語の勉強をしてる I am studying Japanese(informal)

がんばってね

いつに あなたの うちで ばんごはん を たべましょか。
Missing a う at the end of たべましょ, but that's a minor typo.

In this case I'd say shimasu is probably most often used to express the future tense. I don't know that you hear "benkyou suru" too often to mean "I study Japanese" on a regular basis, like once a week or something?

Originally posted by aleku
I am a beginner in Nihon-go, I have some questions while learning the language. 🙇

I'm pretty sure you don't need に in front of いつ, so it would be:
いつあなたのうちでばんごはんをたべますか。 (What time do (we/you) eat dinner at your house?)