What's new

Translation Help Please

Zachary_Taylor

Registered
24 Dec 2019
Can someone please Translate and provide the correct kanji for the term "Never Truly Quiet"
I'm a beginner, so having it in hiragana or in anyway helps! Thank You, very much.

Moderator's note:
This post is moved from the following thread.

My attempt would be,
いつまでも真の静かじゃない
(いつまでも しん の しずか じゃ ない)

The way you put it capitalized and all makes me suspect you might want something more poetic and/or with specific connotations, but I hope that mine would be an acceptable general translation at least.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello thank you for replying back ❤

I was wanting it to be translated into a more proper catchphrase! Shorter but proper. It's for a slogan for a clothing brand!

Is "hontoni shizukana" correct?!

Never truly quiet. In a cool Japanese form ❤ pretty please help

Hontoni shizukana means something like "A truly quiet..." with the final noun, the thing that is quiet, being cut off.
So in addition to it being the opposite of what you are aiming for, it is an incomplete thought, a sentence fragment.

There are many Japanese brands that use fragmented English catch phrases or brand names. So if you don't mind having a nonsensical Japanese brand name, then Hontoni Shizukana might work for you. If the meaning is important, you'll need to compromise either meaning or length.

真の沈黙にならず Mano chinmoku ni narazu
真の静けさにならず Ma no shizukesa ni narazu
無音にならず Muon ni narazu

might work...but, clothes and silence/quietness don't really work as a pairing, so I'm not sure that the phrase is scrutable in either English or in Japanese. Is it supposed to be some kind of brand statement (expressing a value that the consumer my identify with)?

Hontoni shizukana means something like "A truly quiet..." with the final noun, the thing that is quiet, being cut off.
So in addition to it being the opposite of what you are aiming for, it is an incomplete thought, a sentence fragment.