What's new

Translation for an interview... help appreciated

Bekkichan

Transloter!
14 Jul 2004
I'm translating a quite long (5 pages in Word) magazine interview by a visual kei band I've been doing translations for since mid-2004, and after a few days I've managed to smooth out most of my trouble spots... but there's one block of text I just can't make sense of.

The context: the interviewer asks what the noteworthy qualities of the band's new costumes are (for reference, the new costumes are extremely... involved, and elaborate). The guy answering here is referring to another band member, who happens to be the... well, girly one out of the bunch. I'm bolding the parts that are confusing me the most.

この当時の人がどういう動きをしてたのかって言うのを、彼は今、身をもって知ってる筈なんですよ。だから、ちょっとずつ動くとか、段々昔の人が動いてたような動きしか出来なくなってきて、衣装に合わせて彼の動きも変わってきてますね。

I'm guessing he's talking about the poor guy's initial difficulty in moving since acquiring his new costume, which is a huge, poofy, heavy dress with lots of accessories... but that's as far as I can get. Even on that I'm not sure - it seems like 動き is used in some weird ways here. Maybe it's just me. x.x Again, I'm especially lost on the bolded parts, and what they have to do with the rest and such... so I'd especially appreciate input on those... :x

Many thanks in advance!

Well, you've got the idea. People tend to go on and on in these interviews (I've done a few myself).
It's kind of hard to jump in the middle and give a proper 'translation', but I'll give it a shot.

この当時の人がどういう動きをしてたのかって言うのを、彼は今、身をもって知ってる筈なんですよ

The first part of the sentences makes reference to the newer costumes I'm assuming, as he says この当時. Without more context it's a bit confusing, but it's something along the lines of "He should now know himself what type of movements the other person (same person before?) was doing."

だから、ちょっとずつ動くとか、段々昔の人が動いてたような動 きしか出来なくなってきて、衣装に合わせて彼の動きも変 わってきてますね。