What's new

Transferring to University in Japan

cg5td

後輩
23 Nov 2004
Hi, I am currently in a community college in America and I want to transfer to a college or university in Japan. My major is currently Japanese. What are some colleges or universities that would accept me? My GPA in the college right now is about 3.4 but I do realize it is a community college so it's not that great. Can anyone give me a list of college or universities w/ a modest international student body? I've read up on ICU and Sophia University but A. They seem difficult to get into because they are private universities, B. They are quite expensive. (ICU and Sophia cost around $20,000 and $15,000 a year, respectively) C. This isn't that important to me but the religious backgrounds to these 2 schools concern me a little bit since I am not of those religions. Also, I need to know if the fact that I didn't do too well in high school (2.9-3.0 GPA but I did get 1300 on SAT if that would make a difference) will hurt my chances into getting into Japanese universities. And I have dual-citizenship in America and Japan if that will help my chances and I passed lvl 2 on the JLPT. I know that I am asking something that is difficult to answer but I am really looking for guidance since the application fees are extremely expensive (Sophia is $400!). If anyone can draw on their own experiences to give me ideas on where to go I would appreciate it so much. Thanks for your help in advance!

I am sending my application to Kansai Gaidai tomorrow!!! I have a 3.6GPA and I'm currently a sophomore. I'm sooo hoping for acceptance for next fall it could be such a great time! I've met 9 students at my home university who are exchange students from Kansai Gaidai and they've told me so many good stories!
- Zach