What's new

Traineeship in Japan

Chipi

Yancha
10 Mar 2003
I'm studying at a polytechnic school, in the field of clothing (designing,manufacturing,marketing ect.etc,). In our programme we should do a traineeship, in different clothing companies, doing different kinds of jobs (for example as an assistant to some designers).
Now I'm thinking about doing my traineeship abroad, and of course, I'm dreaming of getting a chance to do this in Japan. I'd like to work in an company that's originally finnish/scandinavian/european, but has an export office or something like that in Japan.
(for the reason that I could start working for the company before I actually go to Japan, that way I could get to know the company before entering the japanese work life).

Now I read the topic about american women and japanese men, and the subject about japanese working hours. I've known for sometime the working culture in Japan, and in my way I really respect that. one of the reasons is, that I don't think I'd be able to do the same, I would snap, have a nervous breakdown or something...for real. I think I'm devoted to my job,and I do it well, but テ really could _not_ sleep for just a few hours in a night and work literally, the whole day.
Now,my question is, does the japanese working culture also concern on foreign trainees? Does anyone have some experience as a trainee in Japan? I'd really need some facts,and information, because I should apply to some companies this autumn/wintern... A Big Thanks! :)

a while back i asked some friends and they said yes
so ask someone else
good luck

As long as your language abilities are good enough .. you will be treated no different to any other traniee. Oh ! you want to design clothes in japan? better get learning some engrish then!