What's new

The usage of "how"

hirashin

Sempai
Donor
8 Apr 2004
Dear native English speakers,

I have another question. The following passage is from a college entrance examination.
I'm not sure about the usage of "how" in the second sentence. Can it be replaced with "that"?

The rain forests are important not only for the animals, plants, and
people living there. A great benefit of the rain forests is *how* the
trees in rain forests turn carbon dioxide into clean air. The trees
store carbon dioxide in their roots, stems, branches, and leaves.
This helps to reduce pollution in the atmosphere and also limits the
Greenhouse effect, which raises the Earth's temperature. The
Greenhouse effect could cause the ice caps in the North and South
Poles to melt, raising the level of the ocean.

Hirashin

I'm no expert so wait for more replys.

My first substitution for "how" would be "the process by which" then maybe use "the way" but also "that" would work. Wait for someone who is better at grammar rules then me though.

Uncle Frank

I am so sorry, I am not a native speaker, but ... I'd add "a way" to Your sentence, and I'd remove "the" from trees like :

A great benefit of the rain forests is a way *how* trees in rain forests turn carbon dioxide into clean air.

BTW, of course, it is not my problem, but ... why do You think that "trees store carbon dioxide in their roots, stems,..." and how that could reduce pollution in atmosphere?

Last edited:
Thank you for your help, Uncle Frank.ツ I'll wait for more 窶壺?册plies.
---------- Post added at 15:46 ---------- Previous post was at 15:43 ----------
Hello, ewww. Where are you from?
>why do You think that "trees store carbon dioxide in their roots, stems,..." and how that could reduce pollution in atmosphere?
As I wrote in the first message, it's from a college entrance examination. It's not me that wrote it. It seems that the author regards carbon dioxide as pollution.ツ
Hirashin