What's new

Teaching English in Japan

nomad89

後輩
12 Sep 2013
Hello all. I am a 24 year old English language teacher from the UK, currently working for a international language school in Wuhan, Hubei Province, China. I have 2 months left of my 12 month contract and I am seriously looking into the possibility of teaching English in Japan in the new year. I am a British university graduate with a CELTA and nearly 1 year's teaching experience of 3-14 year old children. China was never my first choice (I actually wanted to live in Japan much more) but I realise that Japan is more competitive and there were lots of jobs going in China (and there still are).

I believe I meet all the visa eligibility requirements and I am not considering a move to Japan for a year/2 years on a whim.

My question are: do you believe I would be able to land a good teaching job in Japan? Is a year's experience enough to land one with a reputable employer, or do I need more experience?

I would rather not live and teach in Tokyo as it doesn't sound as authentic as say, Kyoto or Osaka.

I'm sorry if these types of questions have been answered already, and thanks for taking the time to read!

"Good teaching job". Please define that in your own mind. I would hope you have been researching the job market here and know what sort of things are available for someone with your limited experience. Yes, you are qualified to teach here, but do you really know what "teach English" means in Japan?

Answer: Be a lowly conversation school instructor, or be an ALT at a public school (actually, more than one). Either way, the pay is dropping here, and you should expect about 220,000 to 250,000 yen/month before deductions.