What's new

Tattoos in japan

Ferikksu

後輩
4 Mar 2013
Hello i have some questions about tattoos in japan.

So i have been studying japanese for about 2 years, This summer iam going to tokyo for 3 months to enjoy myself. Next year i will move to japan to continue my studies.

To my question, I have a full back tattoo of a phoenix Would i have any kind of problems if i were to live in japan?
Im a pretty big guy both tall and wide, would my appearance affect the fact that i have tattoos?

Best regards Felix

Do you plan to walk around shirtless? If not, nothing to worry about. Relax and enjoy your stay.

Couldn't tattoos cause problems at Onsens and other similar situations?

As much as people enjoy tossing this factoid around to each other, and as much as it may be true in some situations....onsen really aren't a part of daily life for most folks. I have yet to go to one myself.

The image of tattoos has undergone a drastic change in Japan. While they aren't quite as mainstream decoration as seems to be the case these days in the U.S., there are a great many young Japanese who have jumped on that bandwagon and the old "tattoo = yakuza" thing just simply is no longer true. People in Japan aren't idiots; they have enough brains to tell the difference between a yakuza and a trendy youth. Nobody is going to mistake a great big Swede as being a member of Japanese organized crime. If I were Japanese, I would find this constant "tattoo = yakuza" crap that foreigners delight in telling each other quite insulting to my intelligence.

As much as people enjoy tossing this factoid around to each other, and as much as it may be true in some situations....onsen really aren't a part of daily life for most folks. I have yet to go to one myself.