What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Summer positions in Japan for American professor?

Denisu

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a US college professor in astronomy+physics. I usually take summers off, but I'm wondering if there are any summer positions in Japan appropriate for an academic. Whether it's teaching sciences, ALT, a guest lectureship, etc, I'd just be interested in using my skills while benefiting from the experience of a few months in Japan. My Japanese is very basic, probably at N4.

I recognize this is a bit presumptuous, basically expecting a perfectly-fit position to exist just for me, but I didn't think it'd hurt to ask. Especially if the Japanese school schedule is shifted relative to the US's.
Simply googling didn't help much, given how convoluted my search is, but any help in pointing me in the right direction would be much appreciated.
Thanks!
D

Glenski

Just me
Reaction score
You would have to get a visa to work here, and that's terribly unlikely to happen, certainly not for this year! (too late to apply) You'll need it to teach classes.
I work at a university, and unless you have a special relationship involving a contract between your school and one here, you're not going to get invited to do research on that contract.
ALT work? Not a chance, since there are no classes going on, and ALTs typically cannot be hired at universities.
Summertime is a terrible time anyway. No classes means that many professors are either away on business/study trips, and the school itself has very little going on. My only advice is for you to find a school that seems to have a program suiting your research interests, then see if there is anything they can do to invite you on a grant. But it's not going to happen this year.

Lawrence1

後輩
Reaction score
Hi,