What's new

Space Elevator: The Ambitious Dream by Obayashi Corp.

chldudghks0517

Black Rooster
21 Oct 2012
Hi guys, I'm new to JREF and I would like to kick off my first day by posting something interesting - interesting enough to catch your attention and trigger your imagination (hopefully). :)

I came across this news article (on February) about a Japanese company, Obayashi Corp, planning on something really ambitious: a space elevator.

Did I say that correctly? Yes. A space elevator.

So, this Obayashi Corp is thinking of building an elevator that connects to a space station (there are a few stations already dispatched in outer space). They are thinking of making this space elevator with nanotubes which are very small and light, though they are not the perfect candidates because of their expensive price tag.

They say the purpose of doing this is (not to rip off people but) to transport real humans to outer space, lead them into the space station and conduct laboratory researches there. More details can be found on this article.

Who knows, this can become a commercial application (then they would really be ripping off people!)?

So, what do you think? Is this overly futuristic (too unrealistic) or feasible enough?

My standpoint is, considering the pace at which technological advancements are being made - which has never been faster and it's going to get even faster (I sound redundant) - and the level of intelligence that we will be achieving at some point in the future, I think this space elevator is possible, feasible if you will, in the not-so-far-away future, but of course not any time soon.

Or wait, is this another stupid marketing gibberish to show off how cool they are? Hope not. :>

The concept of a space elevator played a role in my first novel :)

But I don't expect to see one in 2050. You never know, I suppose, but there are extreme challenges that need to be overcome.