What's new

Romaji - A plague?

SacredBlue

先輩
13 Oct 2003
Ohhh the frusteration...Why does Romaji exist? Why can't people spend a month learning the kana?! Pronouncation isn't a good enough reason to use Romaji in my opinion. It confuses new students, and even messes up pronouncation!

I help lil kids and older kids in my general area with Japanese..A new student came to me, And I saw how badly Romaji can alter a student. For the particle を he pronounced 'whoa(wo)'. One of the biggest gripes I have about Romaji for new students is learning the difference in pronouncation in things like さようなら(correct) and さよなら(incorrect). If a student has self taught himself some Japanese and has never added an extra mora to these syllables, it's very hard to make it a habit. Therefore whenever I teach things like the above I make my students exaggerate the mora, even if it's not how the Japanese speak, it teaches pronouncation.

Another big gripe with Romaji, ら・り・る・れ・ろ is neither pronounced ra ri ru re ro OR la li lu le lo. and ふ is neither an english 'fu' or an english 'hu'. へ when used as a particle is not pronounced 'he'.

Today, most Japanese are being encouraged to used Shin-kunrei-shiki "New Official System". Other common romanizations are Hepburn (hebon-shiki, also called hyoujun-shiki "Standard System") and Nippon-shiki "Japanese System". The differences among those are thus:

JSL roomazi
Shin-kunrei-shiki: rômazi
Hepburn: rõmaji
Nippon-shiki: rõmadi

Hepburn romanization is the system most familiar to Westerns; but I rarely if ever seen it used by native Japanese. When I see Japanese write Romaji I usually see them use Shin-kunrei-shiki.

Anyways.. Romaji is fine for spelling out simple words for examples like how I just used it, but it's really not ok at all to substitute it 100% for Kana. If your concern is not having enough time to learn Kana..well..がんばってね

GOOD POINT !!