What's new

Pimsleur?

MikeM

後輩
8 Dec 2003
Hey --

My relative bought me all three sets of Pimsleur Japanese for my birthday (3 sets = 90 lessons). Are these any good or are they trash?

I am somewhat new to Japanese. Most of my studies have been studying form and I have mastered hiragana and katakana and am working on kanji, which I am progressing well at.

But I've heard mixed opinions on this. I only know a few dozen phrases, so I am basically new at the speaking part. A friend whose studying said, "No usage of daily japanese at all, (plain form nor keigo)... don't waste your time."

Is that accurate?

Basically, what are your opinions on this? Yay or nay? If nay, what do you suggest?

Well, I've been studying Japanese for about 6 months now and have finished the first 75 lessons of Pimsleur. My opinion is that alone, this practically won't teach any Japanese, you will only become a "Japanese Parrot", repeating what he says without any idea of why it is said like that. But combined with other study material these can be very useful and effective. I will attend a university class after the summer but until now I've been studying on my own, that meens that I've not been able to talk to someone in Japanese. But thanks to Pimsleur I've been talking for about 75*30 minutes, very useful to learn pronounciation and get a feeling for the language.

During the summer I've been walking to work, it takes about an hour. During that hour I only listen to Pimsleur or two other courses on my iPod. Since I usually don't meet more than 4-5 people during that walk I don't have to feel ashamed for talking to my self, which I think is very important so that you really try to speak in you normal dialog tone and not just whisper at home.