What's new

Offline degree vs online degree?

bishoujo

後輩
29 Nov 2009
Hi. I'm a newbie. =^_^= I hope I'm not asking a stupid question. But I already have like 3 years of college under my belt. But I don't have time to go to a physical college. I'm employed full time. I know that I would still have to work hard though. But is an online degree from an accredited college, including the brick and mortar stuff, good enough for a work visa? Thanks. 😊

I don't think I quite understand your question...are you asking how you can obtain a *work* visa for Japan? or are you asking the general question if " physically attending college classes is better than an obtaining an online degree".

You can obtain a Work Visa for 90 days depending on your citizenship and country of origin.
You may need to consult with your Country's Consulate in Japan to see what their guidelines are. I don't believe education is considered in the application, but if you intend on working in Japan for an extended period of time you need to have the company hiring you sponsor you or act as your guarantor:
Japan: Work visa process

Now if you are talking about a *student* visa, then you may need to follow different procedures and declare your purpose of study. You can't obtain work while under a Student Visa. I don't know if there are any guidelines regarding online study but I don't think you can declare that.
http://www.intstudy.com/visajapan.htm

In general, I think more people are starting to accept and look differently at online colleges and the certificates obtained through them. More and more traditional colleges are starting to offer online degrees as well so I think it is very much an alternative especially for those going back to school or wanting to earn advanced degrees.

Your post is full of holes, JTM.

You cannot get a work visa for 90 days. Work visas are issued for one or three years.
Work or Long-term stay