What's new

need help on reasearch paper

2 May 2010
I'm not sure if this is the appropriate section to post this question...

Hi guys. I'm a student at George Mason University in the U.S. I have a research paper I'm doing about Japanese global influence. My focus is the influence on modern interior design, specifically modern furnishings.

My argument is that the Japanese aesthetics has a significant weight on the influence of modern design. Bauhaus, essentially the founder of modern design correlates with the modernization of Japan in which they opened their borders for the world. Bauhaus was founded about the same time, or after.

Additionally, my theory is that the philosophy of 'zen' has been localized in the Western interior design and furniture in the form of minimalism. People in the west (and the world) appeal to this because minimalism offers calm and peace in the chaotic world we live in.

Can I get your thoughts on this subject? I would really appreciate the help. Thanks!

P.S. I just found out about Muji. They are trying to compete with Ikea and Crate and Barrel, with minimalism as one of the marketing strategies. It's become big in Europe apparently. They're here in the U.S.

Dirk

I'm doing research in Japan and have done some other projects as well, so while I'm not covering that field, maybe I can help a "little bit."

Your argument, and "theory" seems unsupported. Minimalist in what time and place? What design are you talking about? Interior design? Architecture? Everything? You aren't specific enough. You need to define this.

As for Zen... is this VIA Buddhism? Most people aren't serious practitioners of any religion, and while they might follow the religion, you're going to have a hard time saying they are influenced by it heavily in any form, let alone one specific aspect that you don't see in society much.

You need to clearly state these (or at least your definition of them) concepts, and support them BEFORE you start making an argument.