What's new

name question

staceya

後輩
24 Sep 2009
hello,hello,
i am wondering if anyone knows the history of origins of the last name USUKAWA? or if anyone knows where USUAKAWA-MANJU originated??

any help would be great! thank you.

I thought the "usukawa" of "usukawa manju" referred to 薄皮, literally "thin skin". In other words, the manju is mostly filling, with the outer wrapping being only a thin layer.

There are two rare Japanese family names pronounced "Usukawa":

窶ーPツ静ャ (kanji characters meaning "mortar (for grinding)" and "river")

窶昶?督静ャ (characters for "thin" and "river")

They probably are names associated with geographical locations in Japan, but I have no information on these names.

They have nothing to do with "usukawa-manju" which Mike has described already.

AND, please do not double post, thank you.

Egyptian origins

Stacey...
Please be forewarned that I am an amateur historian taxi driver, not an academic, not a college graduate, so you can disregard what I am about to tell you.
From the 1921 amazing book, An Egyptian Hieroglyphic Dictionary, by Wallis Budge,
on pages 181 to 183 he lists the amazing meaning of the prefix Usar and User. This was the world famous Osiris, God of All Gods at one time.
I had previously researched the suffix "gawa" as meaning "river", but also interesting on page 183 are the multiple Egyptian entries of Usekht ent Maati, or Usekht Sekht Ananru, or Usekht Shu.... where the prefix, plausibly "Usukan-tee" referred to a religious field or "area". Also, the extremely old name "gaia" - "guy-yah" or "gah-wah" meant mother earth, or probably, "mother ocean", "mother river" where humanity is alleged to have srpung. (We are all born like fish in water, hence "being born from mother ocean")
Note: Gawa is very close to "gan" which usually means, "son of", family of... etc.