What's new

Moving to Japan to work: Beginner's help requested

curwenx

後輩
4 Feb 2005
Hi,

I'm a Norwegian 27-year old guy currently based in Shanghai (where I study). I want to go to Japan to work long-term, but I'm not quite sure where to start and how difficult it will be for me to get a job, so I'm looking for advice...

My major is computer science, so I'm mainly looking for a job in that area (I'm a programmer, with specialization in database design and programming). I have a master degree, which I completed entirely in Norway. I have two years full-time working experience and 3 years part-time experience, all in the computer science field. I understand that most foreigners working in Japan teach English, but I'm not so interested in doing that.

My Japanese level is beginners only (I could do level 4 of the proficiency exam relatively effortlessly, but I'd need a good deal of study for level 3, I think.) I definately need a job where the working language is English.

I want to work in the Kansai area, Osaka, Kyoto or Kobe would be best, but anywhere in the Kansai area would be OK. I will also consider Tokyo, but only as a backup option (I understand most jobs for foreigners are found in the Tokyo area).

Oh, and I want to start working around August this year. The absolutely best would be to have a job before then, but I can probably get free lodging if I don't have a job, and I have enough funds to survive a month or two whilst looking for a job.

My main questions are:

- Any good webpages for searching for jobs / posting your resume.

- I'll stay in Japan for about a month (in Kobe) in April, any tips on how to best spend my time there? I'm there primarily to visit my girlfriend, but also for language training and job-searching.