What's new

Japanese learning method (toward fluency)

danki

後輩
19 Dec 2013
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and I apologize in advance because my English is getting worse and worse ._.
I'd like to ask you some suggestions about Japanese learning method, because I've started feeling a bit lost lately but time is running fast.. (sorry for the lenght)
A bit of background:
this is my 5th year at university and I should be on the advanced side of the language, but it isn't so, unfortunately. One of the reason is that I am also studying Chinese (really time consuming) and I have had tons of other exams to prepare so I couldn't focus properly on the language, even if that should be the first goal. Also, our studying isn't very much jlpt-oriented, and that complicates things even more because I still need to take the certification but have little time to study for that. [btw, we are using 文化中級日本語II at the moment]. Fortunately, this is my last year, I'm going to have more time to focus on my language skills. Unfortunately, this is my last year, so I need to "concretize" my studies.
Next goals:
-N2
-N1
-win the monkasho scholarship for research students
My current level:
I'd say upper intermediate.
I pick up grammar quite easily and do well in tests. I haven't tried jlpt yet because I felt lower levels were a waste of money (considering I'm taking a degree in Japanese), but I've gone through n3 books and mock tests about a year ago and I made really few to no mistakes so I guess I would have passed them.