What's new
Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Japanese has no spaces?

Narau

後輩
3 Mar 2004
This is a total newbie question. 😌
From what I have seen there are no word spaces in japanese writing. Am I not seeing them, or do they actually not exist? If the latter, are there any hints for a new learner for picking out the words in a sentance? For now I am trying to pick out words by findong the particles I know like $B$O(B,$B$N(B and $B$,(B.
Outside of eventually having a large volcabulary, is there a way to pick out the words?

Here is an example... If it will work. My Hiragana posts seem to be freaking out...

This shou$B#l(Bd be something like a na ta ni a e te u shi i

Narau said:
Here is an example... If it will work. My Hriagana posts seem to be freaking out...

This should be something like a na ta ni a e te u shi i
Japanese isn't functional on these boards at the moment which makes it a little more of a hindrance, but you might have been trying to say "$B#A#n#a#t#a!!#n#i!!#a#e#t#e!!#u(B(re?)$B#s#h#i#i(B (?)" I'm happy to be able to meet you (?) And yes there normally are no spaces in printed Japanese....

Elizabeth, is it like the Thai language where the words are grouped into thoughts (sentences)? In Thai, several words are grouped that form an idea or thought, and there are spaces between those groups. For example, the name of a university (Universlty of Chiang Mai, let's say) will look like one long word. Is that how Japanese is written?

I never use spaces between Japanese words. The only time I will space stuff is at the end of a sentence. Like...

Nihongo o benkyoushimasu will be something like Nihongoobenkyoushimasu (in Japanese script of course). Words in a sentence are all pushed together with no spaces but sentences are separated by a (.) or (!) or some other sentence ender.

But hey! I'm no expert! :D

Elizabeth said:
And yes there normally are no spaces in printed Japanese....