What's new

Welcome to Japan Reference (JREF) - the community for all Things Japanese.

Join Today! It is fast, simple, and FREE!

Learn Japanese with JapanesePod101.com

Is this correct?? (in romaji)

Reaction score
Ok guys, my Japanese is pretty basic (only started learning recently) and I've got to do a presentation including a couple of Japanese phrases for a job interview next week. They're under no pretences about my standard of Japanese (they know I'm a novice), but I would like to get them right.

Is this correct? (sorry, it's in romanji as I haven't begun on the characters yet)

'Kannichi wa, watashi no namae wa Tom soshite Eikoku no Falmouth kara desu. Watashi wa Falmouth de yo-nenkan sumimashita. Watashi wa Graphic Design o benkyoo daigaku de ugokimashita.'

Which should translate as:

'Hi, my name is Tom and I'm from Falmouth in England. I was living in Falmouth for four years. I moved there to study Graphic Design at University.'

There are a couple of things in particular that I'm unsure about: the 'wa' use in the second and third sentence. And the conversion of the verb to past-tense that I've done.

Also, I have no clue what 'graphic design' translates into in Japanese! I'm working on that...

If anyone could give me any tips at all it would be great!

thanks

Ryuk

スパ外国人
Reaction score
Hi Tom, not sure if I can help much but i'll give it a try. Oh, firstly it's "romaji" not "romanji" 👍

Konnichi wa, namae wa Tom shoshite watashi no jitaku no jyuusho wa Falmouth ni Eikoku no naka desu. Falmouth de yonenkan sumimashita. Falmouth ni Graphic Design o benkyoushimashita ni tachisarimashita.

The first sentence i'm not so sure about, I may have accidentally butchered it (sorry!). "watashi no jitaku no jyuusho" is "my home town" and "Falmouth ni Eikoku no naka desu" is "Falmouth in(within) England".

Second setence looks mint.