What's new

Is Carpal Tunnel Syndrome a common healthproblem in today's high tech japan?

pinson27

Kouhai
8 Dec 2006
I've heard something like that. In america, where i'm from, we do get it.. in fact i have it so bad.. i can't do much computing, or else.
From what i've seen in news reports and documentaries Japanese people these days use Cellphones alot.. computers, intternet, blogging and all that just like Americans. But i never hear of cases of Carpal Tunnel, and surely when i chat with japanese people in Chats they are always confused and surprised when i mention Carpal Tunnel syndrome. They never heard the word even in Japanese , which i always type thinking that they would recognize it.

Is CT something japanese people rarely get due to diet and their genes?

Can't Carpal Tunnel Syndrome be prevented by just using better typing practices or what ever? I started playing guitar when I was 15 and the first thing I learned was how to not play in a way that would give me carpal tunnel. I assume it's the same with typing?

(in short, it probably has zero to do with diet or genes.)

Carpal Tunnel is called 手根管症候群 (しゅこんかんしょうこうぐん) - Shukon kansho kougun, or you can use katakana.

Its not non-existant in Japan but it isn't a huge problem either, I personally haven't heard of anyone with it. Genes and diet don't do anything to help either.

In America, recently "Blackberry Thumb" has become a problem apparently, but there seems to be no corresponding problem in Japan, even though so many people seem to constantly be sending emails on their cel phones.