What's new

Important things to bring

Asatira

後輩
24 Nov 2003
Hi Guys, I'm new to Japan forum, and Ive been looking through all the discussions, and what I havn't seen is an FAQ for things you need to bring to Japan, that you would need but not be able to find in Japan.
Does anyone have any suggestions? 🙂 Thank you

Osaka

I'm going to Osaka next year in February.
I'm doing the "teach english in Japan thing"
I'm lookin forward to it!😄

I heard someone say deodorant you should bring? Seemed strange that they wouldn't have that ...
Is the customs ppl strict about what you can bring?

I've heard that Japanese deodorant isn't as strong as other countries, so if you tend to sweat a lot I would bring your own from back home.

If by chance you have curly hair (like me!) I recommend you bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Japanese shampoo's etc are made for a totally different kind of hair and dries out /damages sensitive curly hair ;)

"If by chance you have curly hair (like me!) I recommend you bring your own shampoo and conditioner. Japanese shampoo's etc are made for a totally different kind of hair and dries out /damages sensitive curly hair"

Speaking of hair... Well, this is probably of no use to you but I shave my head every two weeks. When I used to go to a Japanese Barber, cheapest I could find was about 2500 yen a pop (for something that took 5-10 minutes to do). I bought an electric one myself and saved a ton of money in the long run heh. Grats btw on your Osaka appointment. Best of luck and have fun! I love that city...
:)

Thanks, Frank, I will!
Im actually thinking of doing a website and/or a blog for my friends back home... should be cool :D

Speaking of hair... Well, this is probably of no use to you but I shave my head every two weeks. When I used to go to a Japanese Barber, cheapest I could find was about 2500 yen a pop (for something that took 5-10 minutes to do). I bought an electric one myself and saved a ton of money in the long run heh.