What's new

How would I reply to this?

ranei

後輩
28 Sep 2007
I'm a second-year Japanese student at the local community college. Sometimes, when I leave class (generally if I've been speaking privately with her), my sensei will say "Otsukaresama deshita". From what I've read, this phrase is generally used in the workplace, in response to "Osakini shitsurei shimasu." But does anybody know what I should say when "Otsukare..." is used before "Osakani...", in a classroom rather than a workplace environment?

Thanks so much for any help! This has been bugging me for a while, and though Sensei doesn't seem offended when I just carry on with my leave-taking, I'd love to know how to reply correctly.

There's not really an automatic response. She's just kinda saying "good job" in regards to whatevre you guys were discussing. An ありがとうございます and a little bow should be fine.

"Otsukare..." doesn't really necessitate a response. "Osaki ni..." is what one would say when they begin to leave the room; it's not really a response to anything, although you could simply say "shitsurei shimasu" when you leave. I think it would be unnecessary to thank the teacher as a response.

>I think it would be unnecessary to thank the teacher as a response.

You'd just be thanking her for her time. If you'd already thanked her, you wouldn't need to again--but you could.
It's not an A requires B issue. It's just speaking.

Since I work at a Japanese company, I encounter the お疲れ様 / お疲れさん / お疲れ greeting on a very frequent basis. I normally reply 疲れました. Yes, I get odd looks and grins. When that happens, I amplify with 皆が頑張っているからこっちも疲れないと皆に失礼です and get looks that indicate "I'd never thought about it that way before".

Just reply with the same greeting. peers おつかれ~
Superiors and Older co-workers use おつかれさまでした。

I never heard お疲れさん Until I watched the drama "Good Luck"
Not saying it never existed just It was new to me. I thought it would just be the aforementioned versions.